Skip to main
University-wide Navigation

The University of Kentucky College of Public Health (CPH) honored its students' outstanding accomplishments at the End of the Year Celebration and Student Awards reception. The event celebrated students from all program levels—undergraduate, graduate, and doctoral—many of whom were accompanied by their families, friends, and mentors.

“We're gathered today to celebrate not just academic excellence, but the incredible dedication, resilience, and passion our students have demonstrated in their journey toward advancing public health,” said Dean Heather Bush. “Each award recipient has shown exceptional commitment to their education and to making a positive impact in communities across Kentucky and beyond. To the families, friends, and mentors here with us, your support and encouragement have been indispensable. Thank you for being the unwavering foundation these students have relied upon.

“And to our students, this event is about you. It reflects your hard work and previews your potential to transform the world. We are incredibly proud of each of you.”

Award recipients are as follows:
  • The Dr. Howard L. Bost Award honors a CPH student excelling in public health scholarship, focusing on infrastructure and innovation: Orighomisan Agboghoroma
  • The Golden Rule Award honors one undergraduate and one graduate CPH student annually for their compassion, support, and uplifting spirit toward others: Julia Kollitz (graduate) and Julia Heller (undergraduate)
  • The Promising Practitioner Award recognizes a BPH, MPH, or DrPH student with potential to influence public health practice in Kentucky communities: Golden Mashindi
  • The Outstanding Service Award acknowledges a student’s exceptional contributions to Kentucky communities through applied public health efforts, including communication, collaboration, and advocacy: Ashley Grospitch
  • The Maurice A. Clay Award honors exceptional graduating seniors in each academic college at UK, reflecting Dr. Clay’s leadership, service, and academic excellence: Ashley Grospitch
  • The Inclusive Excellence Award honors a student embodying CPH’s values, promoting inclusion and cultural humility, and enhancing population health: Haritomane Brillakis
  • The Undergraduate Leadership Award honors outstanding performance of a graduating student in the area of leadership as an undergraduate: Princess Magor Agbozo
  • The Outstanding BPH Student Award honors a graduating student who excels in academics, service, and leadership during their undergraduate tenure at UK: Olivia Allran
  • The Outstanding MPH Student Award recognizes students who excelled academically in the program: Hanan Yusuf
  • The Outstanding MHA Student Award recognizes the outstanding academic, service, and professional performance of a graduating student in the healthcare administration industry: Hannah Wethington
  • The Outstanding MS Student Award acknowledges academic excellence in completing the MS degree program: Caitline Phan
  • The Outstanding PhD Student Award recognizes academic excellence in Epidemiology and Biostatistics or Health Services Research: Meera Marji

In addition to the awards, the outgoing leadership of the University of Kentucky Student Public Health Association was recognized for their contributions to the college, community, and campus. Those recognized were: Julia Kollitz, President; Victoria Hamilton, Vice President; Kangai Miriti, Treasurer; Jill Patel, Secretary; Samantha Jones, Community Service Chair; and Ashley Grospitch, Communication Chair.

To close out the ceremony, the 2024 Delta Omega inductees received their certificates and stoles. Students inducted were Mason Taylor, Ashley Grospitch, Olivia Allran, Ashlyn Haugen, Olivia Katoto, Seif Atyia, Christopher Otieno, Mary Elizabeth Pendergrass, Lydia Williams, Kelsie Kwok, Shawn Ravi Nigam, and Shubh Saraswat. Also inducted were alumnus Kevin Schuer, DrPH, PA-C, and faculty members Mary E. Lacy, PhD, MPH, and Maureen Jones, PhD, RN.

To see photos from the events on Instagram, click here for the End of Year Celebration and click here for the Student Awards Reception. To see photos of the winners, click here for part 1 and click here for part 2.